governing body
contact afrikhadi
A   F   R   I   K   H   A   D   I
Taking Khadi and Crafts to the World - the Gandhian Way
Satyagraha -              An Exhibition









Governing Body
  • Tushar Gandhi (Activist) - President
  • VK Cherian (Media) - General Secretary
  • Prasanna (Theatre activist) - Vice President
  • Dr. Pradeep Kumar (Child Rights Doctor) - Treasurer
  • Dilip Tamuly (Artist) - Executive Member
  • Mani Lamba (Communications Consultant) - Executive Member
  • A.R. Raju (Rtd. Civil Servent) - Joint Secretary
  • VJ Philip (Rtd. Civil Servent) - Executive Member
  • Parvez Ahemed (Media) - Executive Member
  • Ravi Prasad (Technology Consultant) - Executive Member
Initial Patrons
South African Patrons...
Ela Gandhi – Gandhi Development Trust (Chairperson)
Khurshed Ginwala – ex ambassador to Italy and chairperson Mahatma Gandhi Memorial Trust
Professor Fatima Meer – President: Institute of Black Research
Pategile Holomisa – President: CONTRALESA (Congress of Traditional Leaders of South Africa)
Andrew Verster – Leading SA artist
Nadia Meer – Coordinator
Indian Patrons...
Tushar Gandhi
Tara Gandhi Bhattacharya
LC Jain
Vandana Shiva
Savita Singh
Jaya Jaitly

V K Cherian - Coordinator ( Being registered as an NGO)
Supporting Organisations in South Africa...

~ The National Department of Arts and Culture
~ KZN Department of Arts, Culture and Tourism
~ Trade and Investment KZN,
~ Ethekwini Municipality (International Liaison, Skills Development  
   and Training, Economic Development and Business Support Unit)
~ The National Productivity Institute and Yesintu Project
~ KZN Department of Economic Development
~ Tourism Enterprise Programme
~ Durban Fashion Week
~ SABC2 and Eastern Mosaic
~ SAIBL: South African and International Business Linkages
~ Department of Minerals and Energy (Rural Jewellery Development 
   Unit and Small Scale Mining)

Supporting organisations in India...
~ Mahatama Gandhi Foundation
~ Gandhi Smriti and darshan Samiti
~ Dastkari Haat Samiti
~ Ministry of Textiles,
~ Ministry of External Affairs
~ High Commission of SAfrica
~ High Commission of   India in S Africa
~ Joint Secretary-Culture, Govt of India










Nadia Meer - Coordinator [South Africa]
V K Cherian - Coordinator [India]